What's the difference between sharing a seat and inviting a friend?

Invite a friend to chat and share files. Share a seat to give them access from your plan.

September 30, 2026

Invite a friend when you want to chat, call or share files. Share a seat when you want them to use access from your plan.

Invite a friend

Use Comms → + to exchange a link or QR code. Once paired, you can use the available chat, calling and file-sharing features together.

Share a seat

Use Account → Plan sharing → Share a seat to invite someone onto your plan.

Adding a friend doesn't automatically give them a paid seat. Sharing a seat doesn't give them permission to access all your private services either.

See Share seats for the steps and plan note.